Tradition of Excellence

I'm NOT the author of the articles. I'm chronicling the stories you may have missed.

Cassandra Carter published author at 18

with 5 comments

Michigan native Cassandra Carter’s debut novel, “Fast Life,” was published in July as part of the “Tru” series from Kimani Press, a division of Harlequin that focuses on African-American young-adult fiction. Carter started the book when she was just 14, after having a dream.

She’s still taken a little aback by the book’s success. The online reviews at both Amazon and Barnes and Noble have been overwhelmingly positive, and the comments on her Myspace page are fairly bursting with praise.

“This is so surreal almost, sometimes, like going online to look myself up, and having people contact me telling me they like my art and my book,” she said.

She finished her second book, “16 Isn’t Always Sweet,” due for out in March, and is working on a sequel to “Fast Life.”

Read more about this motivated young woman at MLive.com

Written by Symphony

December 28, 2007 at 8:54 pm

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi,

    Thanks, I know a young woman who might like her books.

    Mes Deux Cents

    December 28, 2007 at 10:41 pm

  2. Hi Cassandra,
    I really enjoyed your book. It made me sit back and think bout what i’m going through and how i want it to be over. Your book gave me hope, Strength, and some understanding in a strange way. I hope that there is a book that comes after that book.

    Ladyswav

    January 25, 2008 at 1:15 pm

  3. I appriciate this book so much I love it!!I hope you write more boks like this, i read ‘fast life’ in one night because it was soooooooooo good.I hope 2 look 4 more books like this,and u -Cassandra Carter- inspire me 2 write books and be a author!

    Janay

    October 11, 2008 at 9:49 pm

  4. Hi Cassandra,
    You are a very brave woman. i mean i face a lot of fake girls and my past in the way you express that through your books is very real. many people in you life try in break and make you fall but you have to remain calm no matter how much it hurts inside i am a teenager who been through the same as your character Jordan Wright. I can relate to her a lot. Thank You
    -TW

    Tranisha Willis

    March 23, 2009 at 9:30 am

  5. Hey, everybody I just wanted to say thank you so much for your comments! They were so touching! I am so glad u all enjoyed Fast Life/16 and I am proud to announce I have just finished a sequel to Fast Life. Details coming soon! I’ll def. keep ya’ll posted!

    Thanks again!

    Cassandra C.

    Cassandra Carter

    April 25, 2010 at 5:26 pm


Leave a comment