Tradition of Excellence

I'm NOT the author of the articles. I'm chronicling the stories you may have missed.

Son of “Great Debater” coach Tolson a professor at Southern University

with 18 comments

“The Great Debaters” is based on a true story chronicling the life of Melvin Tolson as a debate coach at Wiley College (TX). Tolson’s son, Arthur Tolson, is a Southern University history professor.

“Indeed the Wiley College debaters were the predecessors of the civil rights movement as they paved the way for other African Americans to overcome the segregation and racial prejudices of the 1920s and 1930s,” Arthur said.

Arthur Tolson is a historymaker in his own right. He was the first black to attain a master’s degree in history from Oklahoma State University and a doctorate in history from the University of Oklahoma.

Read more at Black College Wire 

18 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Dr. Tolson was a wonderful person as well as a great human being. I met him when I was a student at Southern University, in the History Department. I was a member of the Carter G Woodson Historical Society ( Black History Club) which he founded. We remained very good friends until his death. I received a Christmas Card from him just a few days ago, which he always stayed in touch through letters, always sending me clippings that he thought might interest me. RIP Doctor Tolson

    Melonie

    December 28, 2012 at 9:04 am

  2. Hi there, I would like to subscribe for this weblog to
    get latest updates, therefore where can i do it please help out.

    cardsharing åka fast

    March 2, 2013 at 9:00 am

  3. It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button! I’d without a doubt donate to this brilliant blog! I suppose for now i’ll settle for bookmarking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account.
    I look forward to new updates and will talk about this
    website with my Facebook group. Talk soon!

    Hugo

    March 31, 2013 at 8:28 pm

  4. Hello! Do you know if they make any plugins to protect against hackers?
    I’m kinda paranoid about losing everything I’ve worked hard on.
    Any suggestions?

  5. Hi everyone, it’s my first pay a visit at this website, and post is actually fruitful designed for me, keep up posting these types of content.

    vocamus.net

    June 6, 2013 at 1:42 am

  6. You will be working major muscle groups and then taking a
    cool down week where your body recovers from the “muscle confusion”.
    What actually happens to the chest and the again region and how does one get the appropriate physique form and the way does
    one lose the lean mass by doing the p90x exercises. When I talked to
    Independent Team Beachbody Coach Theresa Lee about wanting to order the Insanity Workout, she said
    I might want to start with Turbo – Fire instead which
    is not so, well, insane.

    mua dia insanity

    June 14, 2013 at 6:51 am

  7. Hey there, You have done a great job. I will definitely digg it and personally suggest to my
    friends. I’m confident they will be benefited from this web site.

    Salvatore

    June 22, 2013 at 8:45 am

  8. Hmm is anyone else having problems with the images on
    this blog loading? I’m trying to find out if its a problem
    on my end or if it’s the blog. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

    Barbecue

    October 4, 2013 at 12:17 pm

  9. I absolutely love your website.. Pleasant colors & theme.

    Did you make this site yourself? Please reply back as
    I’m wanting to create my own website and would love to learn where you got
    this from or exactly what the theme is named. Cheers!

    a-kasser i danmark

    February 20, 2014 at 2:33 pm

  10. ), over the centuries since; precisely to the extent
    that anybody who LEAVES the “Church,” as a matter of even the
    most TWISTEDLY-SEARED sense of CONSCIENCE, even against  “Christ Himself,”  has at least as good-a-chance of being described,
    say, in Isaiah 66:5  (Jeremiah 6:12-15), or even in Matthew
    8:11-12; 25:37-40, as in, say, I John 2:19; contrary to the way EVEN the AVERAGE 
    “Protestant Fundamentalist Sects,”  let-alone all the CULTS even they quite “democratically” and thus SELF-CONTRADICTORILY
    shun (I Corinthians 3), have no less Roman Catholically SNEERED OUT their quotations of  I John 2:
    19, as of late; but no LATER than SCUM such as I, who
    CONTINUE to comprise the one REAL “cult” there is, even to
    the CULTS, have dared take the liberty of trying to no less
    TRUTHFULLY than “democratically” ENTER in the first place.
    In addition to the luxurious spa treatment rooms, the lush, tranquil Spa Garden offers guests the option of
    enjoying their treatments in private, temperature controlled casitas.
    You can instantly safeguard your employees or property
    by taking instant action like shutting down certain doors to trap a thief or to trap criminals involved in an armed robbery.

  11. Avoid any stretching, rubbing or wringing of the fabric.
    So now, start planning, and enjoy every minute of your grand vacation. This can lead you to
    a higher ranking and long standing in the future.

    Kasey

    June 18, 2014 at 9:34 am

  12. As a National Historic landmark, The Greenbrier’s classic architecture, exquisite interior design, carefully sculpted landscape, impeccable service and
    outstanding amenities have hosted distinguished guests from around the world since 1778.
    “Well,” she answered, breathless, “if you try to do it in August, your stuff will be backordered or sold out. Rentable heaters and dehumidifiers may also be used for drying out purposes during tank installation, commissioning and prior to their employment.

  13. I do not even understand how I ended up here, howeever I thought this put up was good.
    I do not recognize who you might be but cdrtainly you are going to a well-known blogger if you happen to aren’t already.
    Cheers!

  14. What’s up, its pleasant article concerning media
    print, we all know media is a impressive source of facts.

    flytte firma

    July 16, 2014 at 3:04 am

  15. I appreciate, cause I found exactly what I was taking a look
    for. You’ve ended my four day long hunt! God Bless you man.
    Have a nice day. Bye

    flytte centralen

    July 16, 2014 at 3:04 am

    • I just received an email from Mr Ken Tolson on the passing of Dr Arthur Tolson. I did not know the good Doctor but I was privileged to had telephonic ally communicated my brain child {Great Debaters International association (GIDA)} to Dr Melvin B Tolson jnr. The organization was inspired by Professor Melvin B Tolson snr documentary movie called “The Great Debaters”. I would like to pass my sincerely condolences to the Tolson family. My association would always be great full to the Tolson family, as I wrote this email my association has been awarded accreditation rights on a debating manual we had developed to honor Professor Melvin B Tolsn. The manual will be used to train debaters both in our country (South Africa), African continent and globally. The primary objective of the association its to revive debating globally and organize annual international high school debating championships using Tolson debating style we had named after Professor Tolson.

      Fika Mbambo

      January 4, 2016 at 11:34 am

  16. Along with your digital dog coaching collar , be sure to learn opinions and get one
    you can modify the setting on. Find a setting where your canine is uncomfortable from a very gentle shock and not more than that.

    guardian shock collar reviews

    September 25, 2014 at 10:46 am

  17. My dream retirement just includes that I’m able bodied enough to enjoy it. I suppose I’d just like to live by water.

    Jenee

    February 20, 2015 at 8:13 am


Leave a Reply

