Tradition of Excellence

I'm NOT the author of the articles. I'm chronicling the stories you may have missed.

Bronx beauty Kerry Washington comes home to make Broadway debut in ‘Race’

with 2 comments

SOURCE: NY Daily News

kerry_washingtonYou’re in rehearsals for “Race,” which will be your Broadway debut on Nov. 19. Excited about that?

AIt’s ridiculously cool. I grew up in the Bronx, and I wanted to do theater long before I wanted to be in a movie. I’ve never done Broadway before, but I had been longing to return to the theater. Originating a role in a play by David Mamet, a Pulitzer Prize-winning writer, is just an incredible opportunity.

You, James Spader and David Alan Grier play lawyers. Richard Thomas is a client who is accused of assaulting a young black woman. Potentially explosive?

Yes. And without giving anything else away, I’ll say that I’m enjoying the ride of it. Which includes the fact that Mamet is directing.

You’re 32 now. You were performing on stage when you were 8. Was that a good experience?

Absolutely. I feel like I was really lucky to have started in theater. TADA! [Theater on W. 28th St.] was the first place that anybody told me to take out a notebook and to take notes of what the director said. I learned to be on time. More than anything, it taught me about a work ethic, the respect for fellow actors and the importance of consistency, preparation and teamwork. I built sets. I hung lights. It was a communal adventure. Film is collaborative the same way theater is. It was a really important foundation.

New York is a fab food city — where would you grab a bite if you had some free time?

I like Bonobo’s Vegetarian on E. 23rd St. The coconut soup makes me very happy.

Written by Symphony

October 24, 2009 at 9:42 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. @Symphony

    I’d love to see Kerry on stage. This sounds like an interesting play.

    Thanks for the info!

    Monie

    October 24, 2009 at 3:08 pm

  2. I have many troubles with my browser Contiki on your site. The monkeys are in the system :-(.

    shanda p. howard

    November 2, 2009 at 8:17 pm


Leave a Reply

