Tradition of Excellence

I'm NOT the author of the articles. I'm chronicling the stories you may have missed.

Mayor Shirley Franklin Is Named 2009 Four Pillar Award Honoree

with one comment

SOURCE: Atlanta Daily World

shirleyfranklinThe Council for Quality Growth is celebrating 20 years of paying tribute to the Four Pillars of “Quality, Responsibility, Vision and Integrity” with a special thank you tribute to Atlanta’s 58th mayor, the Hon. Shirley Franklin.  Franklin will receive this award at the Four Pillar Tribute the evening of Oct. 8, at the Georgia World Congress Center.

Since her inauguration in 2002, Franklin has worked to build a “Best in Class” managed city by strengthening existing frameworks, implementing progressive changes and making the tough decisions necessary to make Atlanta better.

She returned accountability to city government, worked to increase effectiveness and efficiency in government operations and to strengthen private and non-profit partnerships in the city and metropolitan Atlanta region. The administration is continuing to improve financial and budget management practices as part of the reform plans initiated six years ago.

“Mayor Franklin has restored integrity and confidence to the City of Atlanta and around the region in city government,” stated Alvin P. Nash, 2009 Council Chairman.

“Her vision for the city includes quality growth projects like the BeltLine which will be her legacy to the city.  The businesses across Atlanta should thank her for all she has done for the city and this is the perfect opportunity to do so,” added Michael E. Paris, president and CEO of the Council.

The tribute and Atlanta’s thank you to the mayor will be chaired by Georgia Power President and CEO, Mike Garrett.  Honorary co-chairs are Pete Correll, retired CEO of Georgia Pacific and Sylvia Russell, president and CEO of AT&T.

The 2009 Host Committee includes: David Allman, Joseph Bankoff, Brandon Beach, Jerome Byers, Bill Cooper, Curley Dossman, Ed Ellis, John Fox, John Grant, Ernest Greer, Ingrid Saunders Jones, Milton Jones, Jim Maran, Alvin P. Nash, Sam Olens, Egbert Perry, Gerald L. Pouncey Jr., John Rice, Steve Riddell, A. J. Robinson, Forrest Robinson, Michael Russell, Scott Selig, Brad Shaw, Suzanne Sitherwood, Kessell Stelling, A. Ray Weeks, John Wieland, John Williams, and Sam Williams.

For 20 years, the Council for Quality Growth has paid tribute annually to an outstanding individual in the metro Atlanta region that best exemplifies the Council’s mission of promoting balanced and responsible growth through an annual leadership award and tribute gala. The Four Pillar Award & Tribute is a unique honor that celebrates the recipient’s significant contributions to economic development and our quality of life. This prestigious award and tribute are unparalleled in the Atlanta region and has come to be known as the highest honor bestowed for the aforementioned contributions.

The Council for Quality Growth is a trade organization that works to ensure continued growth and economic success for generations to come by providing advocacy, information and education to its members.  Committed to the mission of promoting balanced and responsible growth, the Council is proactively involved in the formulation of policy and legislation critical to the growth and development industry.  The Council addresses, head-on, strategic economic planning, infrastructure needs and tough quality-of-life issues throughout the metro Atlanta region and state.


Written by Symphony

August 18, 2009 at 7:50 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] Built would like to congratulate Mayor Shirley Franklin on receiving The Four Pillar Award & Tribute on October 8th.  This prestigious award exemplifies the Council’s mission of […]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: