Tradition of Excellence

I'm NOT the author of the articles. I'm chronicling the stories you may have missed.

Susan Taylor leaves ESSENCE to mentor youth

with 18 comments

Susan Taylor has been a mainstay at ESSENCE magazine for 37 years.  The New York Times reports Taylor will relinquish her position as editor to focus on Essence Cares initiative, a mentoring project aimed at bringing adults and youths together.

SOURCE: Black Voices

Written by Symphony

January 1, 2008 at 5:01 am

18 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I read this some where don’t remember where. But that is a beautiful thing to do. I give her all the kudos, great job.

    Ann Brock

    January 2, 2008 at 7:38 pm

  2. I saw a documentary on Susan on BET introducing her as a author and spoke of her mentoring program. I can no longer locate it? Can you please direct me to the website?

    Rarity Lemons

    August 29, 2008 at 3:25 pm

  3. Was it “HISTORY MAKERS: FAITH”? I dont know where you would get a copy. Try the BET Web site (or call) to see if it is for sale.

    Tanisha

    August 30, 2008 at 8:29 pm

  4. Men-tor Showcase Magazine need to get in touch with Susan Taylor need address or e mail contact info. thank you JDominique

    JDominique

    January 14, 2009 at 4:53 pm

  5. I am a sixty(60)year old blackmale born and raised in Atlanta,Ga.I have 13 siblings and am very much interested in your mentoring programs.I have over 102 nephews and nieces and am very much concerned over their welfare and upbringings.I’ve experienced a full life and I wish to conveye my wisdom to them and others.Prison,rascism,streetlife,education,the Man and many other topics I would love to share because I feel that it my obligation to give back what God has given to me.Wisdom and Discrenment.

    Vaughn Moody

    December 11, 2009 at 4:50 pm

    • i am seek individuals to help with a conference for boys. if you are interest please email me. i live here in marietta. mentoring is very important but our boys need more attention, education.

      Helen Riley

      March 18, 2010 at 7:29 pm

  6. I am a sixty(60)year old blackmale born and raised in Atlanta,Ga.I have thirteen(13) and am very much interested in your mentoring programs.I have over 102 nephews and nieces and am very concerned over their welfare upbringings.I’ve experienced a full life and I wish to conveye my wisdom to them and others.Prison,racism,streetlife,education,the Man and many other topics I would love to share because I feel that it is my obligation to give back what God has given me.Wisdom and Discernment.

    Vaughn Moody

    December 11, 2009 at 5:07 pm

  7. I’d like to get involved in mentoring young people. I have 20 years of experience as a Recruiter, including Essence Magazine, Time Inc., Verizon and CNN. I’ve also worked at search firms both in New York and Atlanta. Therefore, I have a great deal to give.

    Please advise me on how to get started?

    Thank you in advance for your time.

    Regards,

    Camille

    Thank you,

    Camille

    Camille Hart

    December 16, 2009 at 3:41 pm

    • i live in marietta and if you are interest in helping with a conference for boys please contact me. i know mentoring is very important. cobb county children miss out on alot.

      regards
      helen

      Helen Riley

      March 18, 2010 at 7:31 pm

  8. i live in Marietta Ga and would like to reach out to all that are interest in helping our young males. i am planning a conference for boys and would like to reach out to all that can assist in making this happen. yes mentoring is very important, but our young males need education of self and movtiation into the future and the opportunity to come together peacefully to discuss issues and concerns.

    sincerely

    helen

    Helen Riley

    March 18, 2010 at 6:54 pm

  9. Greetings to all:

    My name is Sonjhai and I reside in the greater bay area and I am excited to announce that I too believe in the power of mentoring young persons. In the tender years of my youth, my counselor mentored me about life/coupled with my academics. I made a vow to God that once I completed my MSW in social work, I would give back my time, energy, love, widsom, to young African American youth and young adults who are motivated in pursuing career and educational attainment. Today, I am mentoring and I feel great!
    Giving is a gift that is so precious and God will reward those that utalize their gifts.

    Sonjhai Meggette, MSW

    Sonjhai Meggette

    August 2, 2010 at 6:35 pm

  10. DEAR SUSAN, WE ARE DOING OUR SALUTE TO READING PROGRAM READING AND BEING READ TO EVERY WEEK IN THE URBAN COMMUNITY.WE ARE COMMITTED TO THE MENTORING PROGRAM AS WELL AND WANT TO REINFORCE OUR PILT MENTORING PROGRAM.OUR WEB SITE IS http://WWW.ICYNB.COM .WE ALSO JUST FINISHED A ONE WEEK CAMP AT OUTDOOR WORLD IN ROCHESTER MASSACHUSETTS.

    JULIE LOPES

    September 6, 2010 at 6:21 pm

  11. Thanks for sharing excellent information. Your web-site is very cool. I’m impressed by the info that you?ve on this blog. It reveals how nicely you perceive this subject. Bookmarked this web page, will come back for more articles.

    Top Article Directory

    August 12, 2011 at 4:12 pm

  12. Thanks for that. Very informative material. I’ve tried looking for this kind of information for a long time and its hard to do that with thousands if not millions of searches on Google. But with luck, I stumbled upon this page. I appreciate the information you’ve put into this.

    iphone deals

    October 10, 2011 at 10:33 am

  13. I wanted to follow up and allow you to know how great I loved discovering this blog today. I might consider it a good honor to operate at my company and be able to use the tips discussed on your website and also get involved in visitors’ opinions like this. Should a position connected with guest article author become available at your end, please let me know.

    Fussball Ergebnisse

    October 12, 2011 at 3:42 am

  14. I wanted to follow up and allow you to know how great I loved discovering this blog today. I might consider it a good honor to operate at my company and be able to use the tips discussed on your website and also get involved in visitors’ opinions like this. Should a position connected with guest article author become available at your end, please let me know.

  15. I just added this blog to my rss reader, outstanding stuff. I like your writing style.

    legal online poker

    January 5, 2012 at 2:36 am

  16. HELLO MS. TAYLOR, I HAVE BEEN A MENTOR IN MY COMMUNITY FOR OVER 20 YRS. I LOVE BEING ABLE TO GIVE BACK AND LIFT YOUNG PEOPLE UP. THE YOUTH ARE SO GRATEFUL AND THAT’S RATHER REWARDING..I PRESENTLY SERVE AS A COUNTY COMMISSIONER IN MY C OUNTY OF NORTHAMPTON, NC UPON BECOMING A COMMISSIONER, I ALLOW MY PROGRAM TO SLIP FOR FEAR OF HAVING A CONFLICT OF INTEREST. I MISS MY YOUTH SO MUCH, I WANT TO RESTART MY PROGRAM, THERE IS SUCH A NEED FOR MENTORING IN RURAL NC. I AM OPEN TO SUGGESTIONS, CAN I POSSIBLY CONNECT WITH YOUR GROUP?

    FANNIE P. GREENE, NORTHAMPTON CO. COMMISSIONER

    Fannie P. Greene

    January 12, 2012 at 8:05 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 44 other followers

