Tradition of Excellence

I'm NOT the author of the articles. I'm chronicling the stories you may have missed.

Interview with young “Debaters” actors

with one comment

Cox News asks a few questions of each of the young actors of the film, “The Great Debaters”. Here is a snippet from each:

Nate Parker

On working with Denzel Washington and Forest Whitaker: “Denzel didn’t try to overwhelm us. He put us in a position so that we felt just as important as anybody else there on set. For himself, he would do one or two takes, and that would be enough. But for us we went until we got it.”

Jurnee Smollett

Favorite movies: “I love ‘Shawshank Redemption.’ I love the idea of someone’s mind being free but their body being imprisoned.” Also ’12 Angry Men’ and ‘Mr. Smith Goes to Washington.’ Oh, and ‘Sophie’s Choice.’ That woman rocked. Flipped my world upside down when I saw that film.”

Denzel Whitaker

On his audition: When he walked into the room, Whitaker says, Washington said, “You’re going to be doing the scene with Ms. Smollett.” “And I said, ‘I’m going to be flirting with her? She’s beautiful.'”

Read the interviews at Oxford Press

Written by Symphony

December 31, 2007 at 11:59 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Interesting: The guy that played James Farmer, Jr. has the first name of Denzel, and the last name of Forest Whitaker. What a coincidence! LOL
    In case I didn’t say it before (I know I did): I LOVED THIS MOVIE!

    Randi523

    December 31, 2007 at 2:49 pm


Leave a Reply

