Tradition of Excellence

I'm NOT the author of the articles. I'm chronicling the stories you may have missed.

Gabrielle Union talks black blogs, women’s health

with one comment

“She’s our Julia Roberts,” says Faizon Love, her co-star in “The Perfect Holiday,” now playing in Bay Area theaters. Adds co-star Morris Chestnut, “There’s a wholesomeness to her. She’s an attractive woman who’s smart and can do comedy.”

Those words were used to describe actress Gabrielle Union who sat down with Washington Post writer Teresa Wiltz. Here is a snippet:

Q: You’ve taken a few hits lately in the blogosphere (with sites portraying her as a hooking-up party-girl-around-town).

A: October for whatever reason was an awful month. … I’m lobbying Congress (about funding for rape crisis centers), advocating for breast cancer awareness. … Why are you assassinating my character? When I’m about the only one saying anything about our community? … Why do we subscribe to a crabs-in-the-barrel mentality? If I was getting arrested, if I had kids I don’t take care of, if I was walking outside without my underwear, I’d get it, I deserve it….

Read more at San Jose Mercury

Written by Symphony

December 27, 2007 at 8:04 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. thats for sure, brother

    Merryyp

    March 22, 2008 at 9:54 am


Leave a Reply

