Tradition of Excellence

I'm NOT the author of the articles. I'm chronicling the stories you may have missed.

Dell’s “TechKnow” Program Gives Computers to Low-Income Kids

with 2 comments

Dell helps kids with computers and possibly a career path.

Designed to assist low-income families who have little or no computer knowledge, Dell’s program supplies the school with computers and software valued at $800 each. During a free, 40-hour course, students learn how to disassemble and rebuild computers.  Upon course completion, students are awarded a computer, software, and one year of AOL Internet access, all free of charge. 

To be eligible kids must:  regular attendance, a C grade average, and good citizenship. Dell’s TechKnow program started in 2001 for fifth- through eighth-graders nationwide.  To date, more than 16,000 students from 60 schools have completed the program.  

Read more at: Broward Times

Written by Symphony

December 16, 2007 at 12:56 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hello my name is Jeanette Hadden I have three children 10,8 and 2. I have recently been injured in an automobile accident to the extent of being disabled for a year or longer. Right now I Have absolutely no income of my own. I am in the process of applying for diability and unemployment, in the meantime I have applied for a Administrative computer course at my local technological school , to get to the point I am searching for help to get a home computer for me and my children as we have never had one, I figure since I will be learning computers at school I should have one at home, im just not able to afford one right now. I think having a computer in my home would greatly help continuing my education from school and I could teach my children to use a computer also. If you can help please call or write @ Jeanette Hadden 1105 apt.A South Cedar ave.Niceville FL.32578 or call (850)279-4635 Thank You Sincerely Jeanette Hadden

    Jeanette Hadden

    July 12, 2008 at 11:57 pm

  2. Great post thx for sharing

    Richard Berrye

    December 23, 2010 at 10:38 am


Leave a Reply

