Tradition of Excellence

I'm NOT the author of the articles. I'm chronicling the stories you may have missed.

U.S. Surgeon General Dr. Regina Benjamin to speak at Appalachian’s Dec. 12 commencement

with 4 comments

SOURCE Appalachian State University

U.S. Surgeon General Dr. Regina Benjamin will deliver the commencement address Dec. 12 at Appalachian State University. She will speak on “The Surgeon General’s Vision for a Healthy and Fit Nation.”

Benjamin will address graduates of the College of Arts and Science, Reich College of Education and University College at 10 a.m. in the Holmes Convocation Center on campus. She will address graduates of the College of Fine and Applied Arts, College of Health Sciences, Hayes School of Music and Walker College of Business beginning at 2 p.m., also in the Holmes Center.

A total of 880 undergraduates and 222 graduates are candidates for graduation. In addition, 222 students completing degree requirements in August are also eligible to participate in the December ceremony.

The Surgeon General serves as “America’s Doctor” by providing Americans the best scientific information available on how to improve their health and reduce the risk of illness and injury.

Benjamin is the 18th Surgeon General of the U. S. Public Health Service. She was appointed to the post in July 2009 by President Barack Obama.

As surgeon general, Benjamin oversees the operations of the 6,500-member Commissioned Corps of the U.S. Public Health Service. The Office of the Surgeon General is part of the Office of the Assistant Secretary for Health in the Office of the Secretary, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

Benjamin has a BS degree in chemistry from Xavier University, an MD degree from the University of Alabama, Birmingham; and an MBA from Tulane University. She also has 11 honorary doctorates.

She completed her family medicine residency in Macon, Ga. She established a clinic in a small fishing village in Alabama to help its uninsured residents.

Her medical training was paid for by the National Health Service Corps, under which medical students promise to work in areas with few doctors in exchange for free tuition, giving one year of service for every year of paid tuition.

Benjamin is founder and former CEO of the Bayou La Batre Rural Health Clinic in Alabama, former associate dean for rural health at the University of South Alabama College of Medicine in Mobile, and immediate past chair of the Federation of State Medical Boards of the United States.

In 1995, she was the first physician under age 40 and the first African-American woman to be elected to the American Medical Association Board of Trustees. She served as president of the American Medical Association Education and Research Foundation and chair of the AMA Council on Ethical and Judicial Affairs (CEJA). In 2002, she became president of the Medical Association State of Alabama, making her the first African-American female president of a State Medical Society in the United States.

Benjamin is a member of the National Academy of Science’s Institute of Medicine and a Fellow of the American Academy of Family Physicians. She was a Kellogg National Fellow and a Rockefeller Next Generation Leader. Her board memberships include the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, Kaiser Commission on Medicaid and the Uninsured, Catholic Health Association and Morehouse School of Medicine.

In 1998, Benjamin received the Nelson Mandela Award for Health and Human Rights. She was named by Time Magazine as one of the “Nation’s 50 Future Leaders Age 40 and Under.”

She was featured in a New York Times article, “Angel in a White Coat,” in People Magazine, on the December 1999 cover of Clarity Magazine and was on the January 2003 cover of Reader’s Digest. She was also “Person of the Week” on ABC’s World News Tonight with Peter Jennings, and named a “Woman of the Year” by CBS This Morning. She received the 2000 National Caring Award which was inspired by Mother Teresa, received the papal honor Pro Ecclesia et Pontifice from Pope Benedict XVI and was awarded a MacArthur Genius Award Fellowship.

Written by Symphony

December 10, 2010 at 9:51 am

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. September 27, 2011

    Mr. Alexander Simon,
    Writer,
    Sir William Place,
    Building Block “C,”
    Apartment #305, 8820 – 85 Street,
    Edmonton, Alberta,
    CANADA T6C 3C2.

    Telephone: (780) 466-9719
    E-mail: alexandersimonea@gmail.com

    Vice-President, Ms Debora Pozega Osburn,
    University of Alberta, Relations Division,
    Room Three Seven, University Hall,
    Edmonton, Alberta,
    CANADA T6G 2J9.

    Telephone: (780) 780-492-1583
    Facsimile: (780) 492-9453
    E-mail: debra.osburn@ualberta

    Attention!

    Ms Vice President of the Hall of Relations to answer your discreet letter dated on my mother’s birthday and thank you and all (U of A) Alumni!

    Medical is a field I need!
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Koine_Greek; … “The Western Roman Empire was the western half of the Roman Empire after its division by Diocletian in 285 B.C. ; the other half of the Roman Empire was the Eastern Roman Empire;” according to the research and War of Greece Athens versus Rome Italy! The first man of warring and contoured the area of physician is Doktor Heiliges Römisches Reich; of Berlin now! http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Romulus_Augustus; again another grandee Sorcerer of Roman Catholic medicine and won the war a parting Sicilian and Italian entry tor Never or Netherlands then!
    Ms Osburn; the errant I said is for the freedom as I am Roman Catholics to medicine and Sorcerer War conclusively! Please allow me time to explain my need to Profession medicine and war to protect all living including those friends we friend as a private non-people!
    As per your review; and I can not article your complaint on me; please review my Official with my full Roman Catholic permit; the Grant MacEwan Academic Record: Student Identification # 1099123; and I ‘bless’ my mother dying of “congestive-heart failure;” and please do write to me above to show your attendance is equal for my ‘possible;’ attendance and thank you.
    Dated on my mother’s (Ms Margaret Simon) Ban’s birthday; and I own a copy;
    I wish to become a Medical Doctor!
    I own a free health record: with the elaborate and finely careful Alberta Government;
    Refer to #891375120; for confidential Record; lady and thank you for over considering my need;
    as, “tax-paying;” man of the Alberta Union of Provincial Employees!
    My Account is not in “arrears:’ with the ‘kind permission;’ of the Canadian Imperial Bank of Commerce (C.B.I.C.); I can student fund my way to DOKTOR-SHIP!
    “Fault;” as the rare and accepted crime free by the State Union of America Funk & Wagnalls trademarks of the Harper & Row Publishers Incorporated and Registered: the famous Linguistic and prose of the medical flank never disparaged any full Roman Catholic from medical degree!
    The Science Editor with full Boston merit and graduation from Yale University and Harvard University is sited in medical degree and wrote this say on an M.D.:
    “A, (person) who has received a diploma in the “highest;” degree!.
    Debra (I take kindly; Alex;) as a study then and graduate of the field of Public Relations; the day is ‘dark;’ by my family Catholic name why invite me to a September 22 – 25; 2011 celebration; with my full Roman Catholic identification resenting dated on my dying mother’s birthday?
    This “new: Centennial Centre for the Interdisciplinary Science emporia; is this paid by the Alberta tax Credit by a man I write and support; by as a friend; Mr. Premier Ed Stelmach! I call this friendly male and (?).! All tax-payers must attend to olde Uncle Canuck! (Karl).!
    All kidding aside; would the Ottawa Government rule over me to be “handed;” late friendship letter?
    The reason being I am Noble to the heart of England and particular German of Social War for a Nationalistic and charismatic Leader? (Herr Adolph Hitler?)!
    Madam; the “Long Range Development Plan (L.R.D.P.); is not an issue outlined by a famous and other media vehicles including the Edmonton Journal! Why?
    If; the Canadian tax payer $; I care with a Scottish save and and a Chinese save; why does not the two mowing of men publicly announce to the greatest Province that is Texas, Austin, America here by the win in 1,702 Anon Domino; a rare Commemorative duly raised and a man of celibacy and no crime conviction is un-welcome nor announced?
    I welcome your b-monthly meetings and I am happy to show what Registry is noted real and charge Calvary!
    I look forward to my new Medical Degree and Graduation celebration!!!!!

    Truly,

    Mr. Alexander Simon
    Medical Sorcerer (unannounced)!

    \XX!

    Mr. Alexander Simon

    September 27, 2011 at 7:05 pm

  2. 600 Chestnut Street Philadelphia, PA 19106
    (215) 965-2305
    Website ; wanted to express interest too!\

    No American OK now and THX!

    I have a Roman Catholic Only #1
    Holy Baptised and Holy Confirmed
    Registration in Roman Catholicism!

    I am bared and centered and pointed poor for!

    Please as caring neighbours to Canada;
    and please duly know we really Are American;
    by the Civil War of America that the Regime of
    Catholics Won as ever single War;
    I am near 10 years celibate; no crime record;
    and care more than if not contributing to the
    New York Magnet best friend of former
    President Ike Eiesenhower;
    the Herr Adolf Hitler of the Manhattan “movement;”
    and with 5-Star TEXAS at Arms;
    Herr in German George Samual Patton!

    I carefully care for the 5-Star of the US of A!

    No tell me; why does the Miltary and arthritis;
    and solid celbicacy and near 13 years of TRUE
    marriage nor venereal disease record nor a minute
    in the WHO SCOW!? arrive me a term of bigoted,
    hateful of pure lousy opportunity in My Land America here!!

    My mother and Yes give her a call; for a (Canadian) American
    there cut open her heart twice! From California; Doctor Moodry!

    And I was a Alberta Union of Provincial Employee; who NEVER
    needed with no respect to CAREFUL CALIFORNIAN MDs; and
    if he tests POSITIVIVE for a TRUE Birth Certify; why LEAVE
    his Ministry in my MIND all ROMAN CATHOLIC AND CUT HIS
    own mothter’s roses in her garden?

    I hate this crumb!

    I Love my mum dying of congestive heart failure!

    Ms Betsy Ross would never give this man a helping (Dr. Moodry) a welcome TEXAN hand!

    Mr. Alexander Simon

    December 9, 2011 at 5:24 am

  3. June 12, 2012
    Social Insurance Number: #631 692 811
    President Mr. Ignatius A. Piazza,
    7975 Cameron Drive,
    #900, Windsor, California,
    America 95492

    Telephone (707) 837-0131

    Mr. Alexander Simon,
    Sir William Place Block C,
    #305, 8820 – 85 Streets,
    Edmonton, Alberta T6C 3C2
    Canada

    Telephone (780) 466-9719

    President Piazza:

    RE: First Class America mail; on Inter-Military with Policing #95492

    I read my mother Ms Margaret Ban’s death Obituary today!

    Ms (Margo) Margaret is stated in the writer who must be an Editor; Ms Barb Williamson! (780) 429-5220. She needs to inform all rare Government Officials I never as here Roman Catholic with Registry here allowed the Obituary!!

    Please can you consult with my transfer clerk as per the December 6, 2010 sent and signed by Ms Megan Brooks. For authority, Ms Bonnie Bloomfield at the Vimy Ridge Academy; please contact.

    My needs are in family separation. Applicant Number: G9110; was first listed as per Ms Nicole Han, Lease Clerk on June 10, 2009 then next to Ms Jamy Croteau, Lease Clerk on February 25, 2010; for your Official decision to intervene; I am including my entire family’s Alberta Health Card cards.

    I am on the wait and need more adequate housing: Ekota II; 7008 – 17 Avenue NW, Edm., AB.; Ekota I; 1703 Millwoods Rd., Edm., AB., and Steinhauer I; 10703 – 31 Ave., Edm., AB.; are town-homes; one-bedroom; please help me move to more suitable housing.

    Ms Sandra Hill Housing Subsidies Clerk (780) 420-6161, Ext.: 616; mailed me the Alberta Employment, Immigration and Industry by Alberta Works received and noted at the East Office.

    Please can you offer me ‘advice;’ I never want to be ‘evicted;’ for something frivolous; and to my credit; on-site; I property managed a apartment; 8530 – 99 St., Edm., AB., while completing my Scholastic studies for over two years. Why was I not allowed a answer? Is the media and I graduated from Grant MacEwan Community College from a Army direct and rare a Mr. Wally A. West; and we wrote extensive research on media ethics? Now a member to our Klan of Simon is kindly announced deceased by a ‘unknown Writer.’ Did you Mr or Ms attend under the strict World of Wally?

    On my daughter’s birth or is it Edmonton Journal well; the man with Bear smile is dead? Wally and my daughter is being born? Yet the careful Staff of the Edmonton Journal I can out TEXAN write provides a list that is script from some poor Writer that never met my lady I have recorded with love poems!!

    Her birth heart was always well!! The baby is new born! For me; I hate the communist all and my mother Ms Ban never entered a worship of Pentecostal or leading the Hebrew for fools take the American Texas Star and reverse the balance and loving brunette beautiful mother never hardly drank nor smoked while stain including family members offered me hemp, and other drugs and they are weak line up Jewish pee! Today my mother is in the Obituary!

    Sincerely,

    Mr. Alexander Simon

    Mr. Alexander Simon

    June 12, 2012 at 10:29 pm

  4. Write more, thats all I have to say. Literally, it seems as though you relied on the video to make your point. You definitely know what youre talking about, why waste your intelligence on just posting videos to your weblog when you could be giving us something enlightening to read?Richmond Roofing Service, 6731 Pickett Dr., Richmond, TX 77469 – (281) 973-7855

    Angelina Knaggs

    May 19, 2013 at 3:41 am


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 45 other followers

